top of page
  • Writer's pictureMoriyah C

Episode 10 | how to write redemption arcs and & conversion stories? Story Science of A Christmas Carol

 Story Science 




Episode 10 | how to write redemption arcs and & conversion stories? Story Science of A Christmas Carol






Hello friend! Welcome to the Faith, Writing & Coffee Chats podcast! 


Do you want to create compelling believable redemption story arcs for your villainous, not quite good, morally gray characters? 

In today’s episode, we will find out exactly this by studying one of my favorite Christmas novels, A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens!!! I am so excited to be studying this story with you all today as a part of the new podcast series: Story Science—Learning Story from Stories


This is how I have learned writing—by studying stories. If I want to learn how to write a certain story, a story or character arc, world build, dialogue, whatever it is I learn by studying stories. This can be from books, movies, tv shows, even songs. If it is a story then we can learn from it. 


So today, we will be answering the question: how do you write redemption arcs/stories? AND how to write conversion stories? If you are a faith writer then your redemption story will most likely be a conversion story—a story of coming to faith, of becoming a Christian. Since these two concepts are so linked, I wanted to go into answering both these questions in this episode! 


In this podcast, you will learn: 

  • Developing backstory to show that hidden spark of good in your negative character, giving them layers and humanity 

  • Giving your character an “aha” and disaster moment combo to help intact their moment of change 

  • Letting your characters have consequences for their choices based on their internal conflict 

  • Backing your character’s change with ACTION 

  • How to make sure your characters change has a CLEAR TRIGGER 

  • My personal favorite way of writing redemption stories: through conversation stories (a character becoming a Christian) 

  • In this podcast we will study a real story examples by case studying Scrooge from A Christmas Carol 


You don’t want to miss this episode! 


Subscribe to the Fable Rose newsletter to get all the updates on me, my stories, and the new novelette I’m working on that will be a free gift to you once it’s finished: https://dashboard.mailerlite.com/forms/36179/53780288310871580/share 



I truly pray this podcast can be a blessing to you! 


So grab a cup of coffee and listen to this chat talk! <3



// 


Resources I recommend if reading A Christmas Carol: 




//


You are fearfully and wonderfully made by God. You have a gift and talent given to you by God. I challenge you to use your gifts and to be a light. 


My heart overflows with a pleasing theme;

I address my verses to the king;

my tongue is like the pen of a ready scribe.” Psalm 45:1 


//


Were you blessed by today's episode? I would be SO SO SO grateful if you would let me know by leaving a review or connecting with me on my website. I can't tell you how happy it makes me to hear from you all and be able to connect one on one with you! 


For more episodes and resources, visit (https://faithwritingcoffee.wixsite.com/my-site). Don't forget to subscribe, leave a review, and share this episode with fellow Christians, writers and creatives. 


Have a question for me or want a specific topic to be discussed on this podcast? Then PLEASE fill out the CONNECT form on the podcast hub website for “Faith, Writing & Coffee Podcast.” 


CONNECT WITH ME:

Instagram: @fablerosemc 

Fable Rose Blog (My online corner of the world): https://fablerosemc.blogspot.com 

IMG_7679.jpeg
  • Blogger
  • Spotify
  • Pinteres
  • Instagram

© 2023 by Faith, Writing & Coffee Chats Podcast.
Powered and secured by Wix

bottom of page